“You know those days when you get the mean reds”?

Lucille starring in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”

HG: You know those days when you get the mean reds?
PV: The mean reds. You mean like the blues?
HG: No. The blues are because you’re getting fat, and maybe it’s been raining too long. You’re just sad, that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you’re afraid, and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Do you ever get that feeling?

Breakfast at Tiffany's

You surely remember Holly Golightly, main character in Breakfast at Tiffany’s? Well the above is part of the first time she meets Paul Varjak. Here is when she wakes up as the ring bells.. Paul has no keys…:

Holly and Paul meet...

So what?  …….    Well, I can have the mean reds too! 😛

You know, it really happens very seldom, you can count it on a hand in almost three years of life, but there are times that I am like Holly, I get the blues… 😦

When that happens…. I decide to destroy my bed!!!!

You know, it is really a shame, because I always have very pretty and soft beds…. 🙂

I have two of them around the house… so that I can sit comfortably in the places of the house I am allowed to stay! See:

I like to sleep here – it is the best room of the house:

But can you see it… yes my great dane’s eye… always open even if I am asleep… I know everything … plus why is my human taking a picture while I sleep I don’t know… phew… 😦

And in my kitchen (plenty of gates there… 😉 but that is another story….) with my friend, Mrs Chicken:

I was not too comfortable – let me make my bed – need to find the proper position… not easy you know? Remember Honey explained it in a video? She was absolutely right … takes time and patience…

That’s it – now I am finally settled:

Sorry for the long presentation of my beds… but I kind of like them a lot, you know us danes, don’t you? 😛

So, going back to my story…  This is me after the “mean reds”…: see how sorry I now feel? My bed is destroyed….

Yes, now I really have a big problem…. Where will I sleep tonight I wonder… All these pieces are not very comfortable… And where is Mrs Chicken? She is no longer in sight…. Sigh!!!

Can you see how bad I feel now to sleep in this mess?

But I am all in all a good girl, since my beds are the only furnitures I have ever crushed in my life… Am I not?

I am lucky my human started laughing instead of telling me off… It took her so long to get rid of all the little pieces of sponge…  (she kept on finding them everywhere for days…)

She must have really liked it since she even took pictures… but I have that feeling that she would mind if I dared do it again in the kitchen…

See you soon – bau bau ciao,

Lucille

About Lucille

Live and let the others live, that's my motto!
This entry was posted in Good Manners. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “You know those days when you get the mean reds”?

  1. Brooke says:

    Oh Lucille! hahahaha! You showed that bed didn’t you!
    So far Darwin’s only killed stuffies, but never a bed!

  2. Minnie and Mack says:

    That is the neatest thing I’ve ever seen. I can’t wait to see if my bed and my brother, Mack’s bed is filled with little foamy pieces, too! You have given me a great idea! Before I just did that to my stuffies.

    Licks and wags,
    Minnie Cooper

  3. Oh Lucille – my human was reading this and thinking she is very lucky that I have never destroyed my bed because my bed is filled with thousands of little white BEANS and if I ripped it open, there would be bean everywhere!!! And I don’t think my humans would ever be able to collect them all, even if they looked forever! 😀

    I love your Mrs Chicken – except in that last picture, you look like you are eating a real chicken – ha! ha!

    You know, I think you really do look like the canine Holly Golightly because of your black & white coat and your Italian chic-ness – ha! ha! You should pose for a photo sitting nicely with some pearls around your neck and a stick in your mouth – hee! hee! 😛

    Slobbers,
    Honey the Great Dane

  4. We are bed destuffers…foam ones especially! So we only get those when we are supervised :p When we don’t have that we have big Mink Blankets! 😀

    It is definately a dane thing to make our beds perfect. With our blankets, we pick them up in our mouths and put them in the perfect position hehe.

    You look so funny with Mrs. Chicken in your mouth, we might have to get our person to get us a chicken!

    Licks and lots of Slobber,
    Lexi and Jasper the Danes

  5. Miss Kylie says:

    Uh oh… someone is in trouuuuble!!! You better lay low on the bed killing for at least a couple months!!

    Licks,
    Kylie

  6. The OP Pack says:

    Oh dear, Mom says we can’t let Ciara see this, she might get some ideas of what to do with one of our new beds. We can see you had a lot of fun doing that, just be careful not to try to eat any of that sponge-y stuff – it can make you very sick.

    We hope you find your chicken.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  7. Marjie says:

    I’m stopping by from Honey’s blog! You live in a very pretty place, near the lake!

    I’ve never shredded anything, but there are legends of my predecessor who shredded a sofa pillow as punishment for the humans when they left him home alone once. They said it was to hot for him; he said Mastiffs go where their people go. And ever after, he did. And so do I.

    Drools,
    Thor (and his human mom, Marjie)

  8. Impressive work on the bed!

  9. preston says:

    Hello Lucille!
    I am coming from Honey’s blog.
    You are a beautiful Great Dane! I personally think your bed looks more comfortable and fluffier with its stuffing out… but that’s just me…I am sure our humans don’t appreciate that…
    wags,
    Preston

  10. Homer says:

    Lucille, have you tried human’s bed? It’s a good spot for you to rest. 😛

    Love,
    Homer

  11. You angelic bed destroying Great Dane. You make us laugh. But you can believe your mom would be unhappy if you destroyed another bed. Ask Buddy. He has dissected his bed, several blankets and we forget what else. He was digging in them but the final outcome was the same. So he can speak from experience. Right, Buddy?

    Buddy: No comment. I’m an angelic hound.

  12. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award!!! | Lucille, A Great Dane in HumanLand…

Leave a Reply

